Home page    » SCIENCE    » Science    » Scientific Institutes and Organizations in Azerbaijan   

Scientific Institutes and Organizations in Azerbaijan


The Scientific researches in the Republic of Azerbaijan are generally carried out in the following research institutions:

- Research institutions of ANAS:
-Institutions for applied scientific research by ministries, state committees, Joint Stock Organizations and Companies;
- Departments, laboratories and various scientific and research institutions in higher educational establishments.
36 scientific institutions and organizations covering most advanced scientific areas and forming the structure of the Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences being main scientific organization of the country operate in Azerbaijan. These institutions and organizations are united in 5 departments as follows:

Department of Physical, Mathematical and Technical Sciences
• Institute of Physics
• Institute of Cybernetics named after Academician A.Huseynov
• Institute of Mathematics and Mechanics
• Shamakhi Astrophysical Observatory named after Nasraddin Tusi
• Institute of Radiation Problems 
• Institute of Information Technologies

Department of Chemical Sciences
• Institute of Petrochemical Processes named after Academician Yu.G.Mamedaliyev
• Institute of Chemical Problems
• Institute of Chemistry of Additives after named Academician A.Guliyev
• Institute of Polymeric Materials
• Experimental-Industrial Plant of Institute of Petrochemical Processes
• Special Design-Technology Bureau for Complex Processing of Mineral Raw Stock

Department of Earth Sciences
• Institute of Geology
• Institute of Geography named after Academician H.Aliyev

Department of Biological Sciences
• Institute of Botany
• Institute of Zoology
• Institute of Genetic Resources
• Institute of Physiology named after A.I.Garayev
• Institute of Soil and Agricultural Chemistry
• Institute of Microbiology
• Central Botanical Garden
• Mardakan Arboretum

Humanitarian and Social Sciences Department
• Institute of History named after A.Bakikhanov
• Institute of Archaeology and Ethnography
• Institute of Economy
• Institute of Philosophy and Political-Legal Researches
• Institute of Oriental Studies named after Academician Z.Bunyadov
• Scientific-Research Institute on Human Rights
• Institute of Literature named after Nizami
• Institute of Linguistics named after Nesimi
• Institute of Manuscripts named after M.Fuzuli
• Institute of Architecture and Art
• National Museum of History of Azerbaijan
• Institute of Folklore
• National Museum of Literature of Azerbaijan named after N.Ganjevi
• Huseyn Javid’s Memorial Flat 

Oxunub: 76885